Levies raised since 2009/10

Under the current funding arrangements set up by the Financial Services Authority (FSA), there are five broad funding classes:

  • deposits
  • general insurance
  • life and pensions
  • investments
  • home finance

With the exception of deposits, these five broad classes are divided into sub-classes based on provider/intermediation activities. The levy for each of these sub-classes since 2009/10, is provided in the table below. 



The Financial Conduct Authority website includes a searchable database of all firms authorised and regulated by the FCA and the Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA).


The Financial Ombudsman Service is the official independent expert in settling complaints between consumers and financial businesses

Jargon Buster

  • Deposits

    money placed in a bank or similar institution to earn interest or for safe-keeping.
  • FSA

    Financial Services Authority, was previously the UK's regulator for the finance industry. It was replaced by the Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA) and the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) on 1 April 2013.